TO THE PRESIDENT, EXECUTIVE BOARD, AND GENERAL DIRECTOR OF ICOM

In light of the distressing circumstances that have led to the resignation of the ICOM President and other prominent, highly respected members of the ICOM Executive Board and the Standing Committee MDPP2, as manifested by their respective letters of resignation, and in an effort to insure transparency and acquire a better understanding of this situation which is rapidly eroding the trust in the ethical values that this institution upholds, the signatory Chairs of ICOM's International Committees, National Committees, Regional Alliances, Affiliated Organisations and Working Groups, continue to request that the following be shared with us by July 22nd 2020.

- The minutes of all meetings of the Executive Board for the years 2019 and 2020, (not a revised re-written report), including the missing minutes for meetings numbers 141, 144, 145 and 146 ¹
- **The minutes** of the procedures behind the appointment of the new president and the disposition in the statutes that regulated the selection.

Once again, we request the minutes, as reasoning for the rendering of reports - in lieu of the original minutes- was obscured under arguments of French laws which were not revealed.

Furthermore, and taking into account the considerations mentioned above, in order to evaluate the working methods of the ICOM Executive Board and ICOM Secretariat, we request:

- An independent review to be launched to identify and assess shortcomings in internal procedures and communication and suggest remedial improvements to be implemented on the short and longer term.
- The full report of the reviewers and the remedial improvements to be shared with the ICOM membership.

While self-assessment for the EB is a minimum first step, one cannot, at once, be the subject of an audit and be the reviewer. It is for this reason that we ask for an external review to include a committee of experts chosen by NCs, ICs, RAs, AOs and WGs.

We request that this process take place as follows:

- 1. That the EB self-assessment be shared with us by 23rd July 2020.
- 2. That:

a. the NCs, ICs, RAs, AOs and WGs elect ICOM members to choose and to lead the independent group of reviewers

 access be granted to the elected ICOM members and review team to interview members of the EB and the Secretariat from 2016 until the time of the review, and, to all pertinent documents

¹ It is noted and acknowledged that on the date for submitting this letter short reports from the meetings138,139, 140, 142, 143, 144, 145 and 146 have been posted on the ICOM member space.

c. a budget be allocated to the group of reviewers, as well as travel expenses, if necessary, for the ICOM members elected by the NC, IC, RA, AOs and WGs to review the shortcomings that led to the resignations.

We request that this proposal be accepted before July 24th 2020, further to be announced during the General Assembly July 24th

Budget to be approved by the EB & DG by September 16th 2020, with the review group selected by the elected members of the NCs, ICs, RAs, AOs, WGs and budget submitted to the EB & DG by September 2nd 2020.

22nd July 2020

Signatories*:

	NAME	TITLE	INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE
1	Joana Sousa Monteiro	Chair	CAMOC
2	Tine Bagh	Chair	CIPEG
3	Frank P. Bär	Chair	CIMCIM
4	Danielle Kuijten	Chair	COMCOL
5	Diana Pardue	Chair	DRMC
6	Kathrin Pabst	Chair	IC Ethics
7	Nana Meparishvili	Chair	ICAMT
8	Kai Lobjakas	Chair	ICDAD
9	Yvonne Francisca Maria Ploum	Chair	IC-DEMHIST
10	Antonio Rodriguez	Chair	ICEE
11	Burçak Madran	Chair	ICMAH
12	Ophelia Leon	Chair	ICMEMO
13	Anette Hansen	Chair	ICMS
14	Bruno Brulon Soares	Chair	ICOFOM
15	Ralf Čeplak Mencin	Chair	ICOM ICME
16	Matthias Henkel	Chair	ICOM MPR
17	Ute Wartenberg Kagan	Chair	ICOMAM
18	Kristiane Strætkvern	Chair	ICOM-CC
19	Irena Zmuc	Chair	ICR
20	Leena Tokila	Chair	ICTOP
21	Goranka Horjan	Chair	INTERCOM

22	Dorit Wolenitz	Chair	NATHIST
23	Marta C. Lourenco	Chair	UMAC

	NAME	TITLE	REGIONAL ALLIANCE
24	Kidong BAE	Chair	ICOM ASPAC(Asia-Pacific Alliance)

	NAME	TITLE	NATIONAL COMMITTEE
25	Jane Legget	Chair	ICOM Aotearoa New Zealand
26	Mathew Trinca,	Chair	ICOM Australia
27	Shirin Melikova,	Chair	ICOM Azerbaijan
28	Teresa Villegas de Aneiva	Chair	ICOM Bolivia
29	Kérya CHAU SUN	Chair	ICOM CAMBODIA
30	Leonardo Mellado González	Chair	ICOM Chile
31	Eunice Báez Sánchez	Chair	ICOM Costa Rica
32	Søren la Cour Jensen	Chair	ICOM Denmark
33	Luisa De Peña Díaz	Chair	ICOM Dominican Republic
34	Melissa Regina Campos Solórzano	Chair	ICOM El Salvador
35	Agnes Aljas	Chair	ICOM Estonia
36	Rachelle C. Doucet	Chair	ICOM Haiti,
37	Guðný Dóra Gestsdóttir	Chair	ICOM Iceland
38	Seyed Mir Ahmad Mohit Tabatabaei	Chair	ICOM Iran
39	Nava Kessler	Chair	ICOM Israel
40	Linda A. Mboya	Chair	ICOM Kenya
41	Inkyung Chang	Chair	ICOM Korea
42	Dashdendev Bumaa	Chair	ICOM Mongolia
43	Atle Ove Martinussen	Chair	ICOM Norway
44	Eduardo Ugarte y Chocano	Chair	ICOM Peru
45	Nestor Castro	Chair	ICOM Philippines
46	Piotr Rypson	Chair	ICOM Poland
47	Dan Octavian PAUL	Chair	ICOM Romania
48	Nikola Krstovć	Chair	ICOM Serbia
49	Kaja Sirok	Chair	ICOM Slovenia
50	Catherine Snel	Chair	ICOM South Africa
51	Medea Ekner	Chair	ICOM Sweden
52	Tonya Nelson	Chair	ICOM UK

	NAME	TITLE	AFFILIATED ORGANISATION
53	Linda Norris,	Prog Dir	Affiliated Organization, International Coalition of Sites of Conscience
54	Rachel Erickson	Chair	Commonwealth Association of Museums

^{*}Documentation of the receipt of authorization from the signatories is kept by the ICOM IC Spokesperson