ICOM member access
Join ICOM

COMCOL

COMCOL

ICOM International Committee for Collecting

All news

May 10, 2021

Series Global Conversations on the Return of Cultural Heritage

Join Indigenous experts, museum professionals, and human rights specialists from across the globe for a series of  conversations regarding repatriation and the return of cultural heritage. One year ago, the University of British  Columbia (UBC) hosted an expert seminar to support the work of the United Nations Expert Mechanism on the Rights  of Indigenous Peoples’ (EMRIP) in drafting a report on the repatriation of ceremonial objects, human remains, and the  intangible heritage of Indigenous peoples. EMRIP’s report was adopted by the United Nations Human Rights Council  October 2020. Based on the report’s recommendations, this series will encourage dialogues amongst participants and  foster communities of professional practice across the globe. 

Registration is required for each session. Content will also be made available through open-source publications and  other forms of dissemination after the series is completed.


Setting the Foundation 

Thursday, April 29 – 12:00 PT/14:00 CT/15:00 ET/9:00 NZDT+1 

Register at bit.ly/gc21foundation 

This conversation will consider how things have changed  since the expert seminar, the progress that has been  made, and what remains to be done.  

Panelists: Sheryl Lightfoot, University of British Columbia  (Canada), Sue Rowley, Museum of Anthropology at the  University of British Columbia (Canada), Te Herekiekie  Herewini, The Museum of New Zealand Te Papa  Tongarewa (New Zealand) 

Moderator: Armando Perla (Canada/El Salvador)


Indigenous Led Initiatives 

Thursday May 13 – 10:00 PT/12:00 CT/13:00 ET/15:00 BRT/19:00 CET 

Register at bit.ly/gc21initiatives 

Indigenous experts will discuss repatriation initiatives  led by Indigenous peoples on three continents, which  include the development of repatriation guides, ethical  guidelines, and community advocacy.  

Panelists: Lucy Bell, Haida Nation (Canada), Amy  Lonetree, Ho-Chunk Nation and UC Santa Cruz (U.S.),  Lis-Mari Hjortfors, Sami Parliament (Sweden) Árran  Lulesami Museum (Norway) 

Moderator: Tricia Logan (Canada)


Museum Dialogues 

Thursday May 27 – 9:00 PT/11:00 CT/12:00 ET/18:00 CET/19 :00 EAT 

Register at bit.ly/gc21dialogues 

This conversation will focus on the transcontinental  dialogues within museums and between museums and  communities to ensure the return of tangible and  intangible heritage to the places and communities where  they belong.  

Panelists: Adriana Munoz, Museum of World Culture  (Sweden), Anabela Carlon Flores, Yaqui People (Mex ico); Purity Kiura, National Museum of Kenya (Kenya);  Steve Nash, Denver Museum of Nature and Science  (U.S.) 

Moderator: Brooke Morgan (U.S.) 


Moving Forward Together 

Thursday June 10 – 12:00 PT/14:00 CT/15:00 ET/21:00 CET/22:00 SAST/9:00 NZDT+1

Register at bit.ly/gc21forward 

This conversation will summarize previous panels and  explore actions that can strengthen the work that has  been done until now. 

Panelists: Brandie Macdonald, Museum of Us (U.S.);  Te Arikirangi Mamaku, The Museum of New Zealand  Te Papa Tongarewa (New Zealand); George Abungu,  

International Standing Committee on the Traffic of Illicit  Antiquities and Okello Abungu Heritage Consultants  (Kenya); Deirdre Prins-Solani, Independent expert on  Intangible Heritage (South Africa) 

Moderator: Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko (U.S.)


Please find attached the GlobalConversations2021 with the complete program and registration links for the different dates. Participation is free of charge.

[instagram-feed]